I first visited this bar nearly 15 years ago, and the décor was getting old then. When I last went in 2014, it didn’t appear to have been replaced. However, that doesn’t detract from the appeal of L’Archiduc. The cocktails are excellent if not cheap at around €10. There is quite often live jazz in the early evenings; this is replaced by a DJ who usually plays until the sun comes up.

I liked to sit with friends on the balcony which runs around the top of L’Archiduc, making my way down the cocktail list. It’s a great place to spend an evening.

Address: Antoine Dansaertstraat 6, 1000 Brussel, Belgium

Telephone: +32 2 512 06 52

Website: http://www.archiduc.net/en

Directions: Bourse pre-metro (lines 3 or 4) or De Brouckere metro (1 or 5).

(A version of this review was originally posted by me on VT)

