The Wrestlers used to be a pretty rough pub which served underage drinkers on the way back from the Abbey football ground after watching Cambridge United; now many years on it has reinvented itself as a Thai restaurant. Incredibly busy when we visited on a Monday evening, and taking takeaway orders, inside it is a little weird with a mixture of traditional pub fixtures and Thai decorations. The staff are happy to make recommendations and are pretty friendly – and when we asked if they had Thai dessert the cook apologised they don’t do any, and later brought us some of her supply of chocolate biscuits, free of charge! I think the food here was excellent, and the beer was good too. I returned later with my fiancée, who knows her Asian food and she was also impressed.

7711919-Veg_The_Wrestlers_Cambridge_Cambridge
Veggie, The Wrestlers, Cambridge

I had hot special stir fry vegetables, a mixture of about 10 or so veg fried in a medium curry sauce and spiced up with cut chillies. Served with a portion of rice to which I added a fried egg, it was the best Thai food I can remember having in Britain.

7711920-Chicken_The_Wrestlers_Cambridge_Cambridge
Chicken, The Wrestlers, Cambridge

My mate had chicken fried rice which he thought was ok but not flavoured enough. On my next visit I had a very rich vegetarian tom ka, a spicy coconut soup which was delicious, and my fiancée had a very good tom yum goong, which is a hot, spicy and sour seafood soup with some big prawns in it.

Address: 337 Newmarket Road, Cambridge CB5 8JE

Telephone: 01223 566554

Website: http://www.charleswellspubs.co.uk/pub-view/wrestlers/

Directions: On Newmarket Road opposite the entrance to the Argos retail site

(A version of this review was originally posted by me on VT)

