Once again, I visited a veggie restaurant at the end of lunch, and it was empty. This time, I’m not sure they do enough business. Situated on an industrial estate, Taro Veggie is a very professional looking place, with nice staff (who were surprised to see a white person, so we had a really nice chat), and the food was OK. Piano music was the soundtrack to a pleasant lunch. The menu is pretty small, and consists mainly of Malay, Chinese and spaghetti dishes, mostly daily specials (so when I went, I only had the choice of about 6 dishes). They also do a range of burgers for breakfast and at tea-time (oddly). Meal and a drink was RM14.

7516850-Interior_Taro_Veggie_Melaka_Melaka
Interior, Taro Veggie Café, Melaka

I liked Taro Veggie, but I’m not sure it’s worth the journey from Melaka unless you have a car, and unless you’ve already tried a lot of the Bukit Beruang veggie places. However, it is really friendly. They also have another outlet in a hospital in Klebang, Melaka.

7516849-Food_Taro_Veggie_Melaka_Melaka
Nasi lemak, Taro Veggie Café, Melaka

I had nasi lemak with rendang. It was fine, though didn’t have any coconut milk in the rice which is kind of the point. The rendang and the sambal were both really full of flavour, and I would have liked a bit more of them. I had the Taro veggie juice on a staff recommendation – pineapple juice and vegetables didn’t wor for me.

Open Monday until 15.00, Tues-Fri 8.30-18.30, Saturday, public holidays and lunar 1st and 15th (Buddhist vegetarian days) until 21.00.

Address: N.11 Jalan TTC 26A, Cheng, Melaka

Phone: 063347136

Website: http://Www.taroveggiecafe.com.my

Directions: Just after the bridge over Melaka River, take the first right and then right again. 50m on your left.

(A version of this review was originally posted by me on VT)

