I hadn’t been to a Hard Rock Cafe before, and I didn’t really know what to expect. I guessed there would be guitars on the walls, which turned out to be correct. I didn’t guess there would be an excellent cashew nut based veggie burger on the menu. The staff were very attentive, and the food was delivered quickly (probably suspiciously quickly). Everyone seemed pretty happy with their meals which were large and filling, though expensive for Malaysia. Ribs, salmon, pepper steak, and barbecue chicken all went down well with my companions. After we ate, a rather good ‘live band’ performed covers of recent hits and a few rock classics.

7471292-Interior_HRC_Penang_Penang
Interior, Hard Rock Café, Penang

I assume that this is what they’re all like around the world (except for the liveband, which is a Southeast Asian thing).

Address: Batu Ferrenghi Beach, 11100 Penang
Telephone: 048811711
Website: http://www.hardrock.com/cafes/penang/

Directions: Head out of Georgetown and take the coast road through Batu Ferrenghi, past a lot of hotels. You can’t miss it on your right.

(A version of this review was originally posted by me on VT)

