Not many photos here, for some reason, despite being more than once. You might miss this place as you walk through little India – it looks like a pizza stand and a snack stand. Behind these is a vegetarian restaurant which does excellent food. Every dish I had I wanted to have again! The menu has a wide range of mock meat and vegetable curry options, plus chaats after 4pm and the pizzas I noted earlier. They also do a large choice of Indian sweets; that’s not really my thing, but these seemed very popular, with a stream of people coming in just to buy them rather than a meal.

It’s a small place with around 20 seats. Not particularly attractive or unattractive, but the food makes up for that.

The mixed starter platter is a good way to test each of the options, and was served with very sweet onions; the samosa chaat was very rich; the mock mutton masala pizza was the pizza chef’s favourite and I tend to agree it was very good; the mock chicken vuvural was spicy and full of flavour.

The staff were very rude when we asked to order food from the after 4pm menu at 15.59! Hopefully that’s a one-off, as the staff there the previous time were good at talking me through the menu and making suggestions, but I have dropped the score accordingly.

Address: 75, Lebuh Penang, Georgetown
Telephone: 0127410987
Website: http://www.nrsweetspenang.com

