Another Polish unusual food here. I’m afraid I wouldn’t know how to pronounce this (please feel free to tell me), but it seems to be named after Wawel hill, part of Krakow, which has also served as a base for a cathedral, palace and presidential home of the same name. The chocolate factory is is based in Krakow. This chocolate cried out to be bought, as it appeared to be flavoured with Advocaat, a weird Dutch liqueur made from egg yolks. Perhaps it was too strongly flavoured, because it set off the automatic tills meaning someone had to check I was over 18…


Anyway, I got it home and eventually got around to trying it. It broke quite easily, perhaps because it was very well filled. The shell is actually quite thin chocolate, and the filling a more murky, marzipan like yellow than the packet shows (which actually looks like advocaat). It smelled quite strongly of alcohol (1.6%, so reasonably powerful for a chocolate bar). The taste was quite rich and slightly eggy, and I enjoyed it quite a lot. More than I like advocaat, anyway. Worth a try if you find it in your local supermarket.

