If you asked me in the past if I would not only really enjoy a stage show with musical numbers, child actors, and dance routines, but would even watch it twice, I would have laughed…

Curtain, The Lion King, London

There probably isn’t much to say about the Lion King stage production at the Lyceum theatre which hasn’t already been said by people more clever than me; you also aren’t allowed to take photos of the performance itself.  However, I did want to note that it is excellent, even on the second viewing. The first time I went was in about 2004, I think, and I sat in the front row of the grand circle which gave an excellent view.

Audience, The Lion King, London

This time, I was in the stalls about 11 rows back. I was worried it wouldn’t be as good a view, but it was fine, and it felt closer to the action. The play has also been updated a little bit, which I didn’t expect. There were references to ‘Frozen’ and to recent political events, some of which would have gone over the kids’ heads, but they wouldn’t care. 

Bar queue, The Lion King, London

The production is absolutely brilliant – it uses masks, mechanical wizardry, lighting, and takes advantage of the whole theatre to bring the story to life. The dancers are entertaining, playing animals, birds, flowers, and even grass, and a lot of the acting is good too. I particularly enjoyed Rafiki, Mufasa, Scar camping it up, and the antics of Timon and Pumba. 

Drinks, The Lion King, London

Tickets cost between £42 and £142 (ouch…), and there are even a few standing tickets for £25 each, but you can only buy those in pairs. A little tip if you take kids – try to get them aisle seats in the stalls. I won’t spoil anything for you but they will love it!For the adults, a different type of tip. The queue at the bar is pretty huge at the interval, but if you download the ATG app, you can order drinks and snacks which they will deliver to your seat at no extra cost. Definitely worth it!
Address: Lyceum Theatre, 21 Wellington St, London WC2E 7RQ

Telephone: 02074208100

Website: https://www.thelionking.co.uk

