I understand this is the biggest chain of Thai restaurants in Malaysia, with 18 outlets across the Klang Valley, Johor, and Genting. They’ve relatively recently brought some vegetarian items onto their menu, so I tried it for the first time (wife is a fan). We went to the Wangsa Walk branch.

Interior, Absolute Thai, Kuala Lumpur

It had quite a weird ambience, as it was half black paint and industrial, half hipster cafe. It also had very loud aircon, which meant although the place was busy, it felt oddly quiet. Staff were a bit offhand, for instance putting down our drinks a bit hard without acknowledging us. Just a little strange.

Drinks, Absolute Thai, Kuala Lumpur

Speaking of the drinks, they were very sweet, except for the watermelon juice. Wife is wise to their ways, so made sure to ask for it without added sugar. We also shared a lemongrass juice and a Thai iced tea. I think I’d just have plain water in future.

Broccoli, Absolute Thai, Kuala Lumpur

Broccoli with mushroom was fairly bland, but inoffensive. Daughter very keen, as it’s her favourite vegetable.

Omelette, Absolute Thai, Kuala Lumpur

Plain omelette was the crispy bubbly type which I don’t care for but wife and daughter enjoyed.

Fish, Absolute Thai, Kuala Lumpur

Steamed siakap, or barramundi, had chilli, garlic and lime sauce, well, drowning it really. It was spicy enough to give my wife the chilli hiccups which doesn’t happen very often. I enjoyed the fact it was served in a fish shaped steamer tray.

Green curry, Absolute Thai, Kuala Lumpur

Finally, my vegetarian green curry was a mix of tofu, peppers, aubergine and Thai ball aubergine, babycorn, long beans, broccoli, and carrot. It was also spicy, with occasional bursts of Thai basil flavour (which I find closer to mint than normal basil). Decent.

Poorly arranged photos, Absolute Thai, Kuala Lumpur

I didn’t really enjoy Absolute Thai enough that I felt I wanted to head back, but at the same time I think I would go again once I had exhausted the nearby alternatives. Wife didn’t think it was done justice this time. She is fond of their tom yam among other dishes, but wanted stuff to share with the little one. She might opt for that instead of the fish in future.

Address: G03A, Ground Floor, Wangsa Walk Mall, 9 Wangsa Avenue, Jalan Wangsa Perdana, Wangsa Maju, 53300 Kuala Lumpur
Telephone: 0341318633
Website: https://www.facebook.com/AbsoluteThai/

Greenery, Absolute Thai, Kuala Lumpur