Open for about a year when I first visited, I finally got around to visiting this salad and sandwich place in mid-2019. It’s another potentially upmarket Subway-style option similar to Wrappe, where you build your own sandwich from a range of choices. The interior is light and green, with fake distressed/reclaimed wood tables (actually plastic veneer) and fake plants.

Exterior, Salad Atelier, Kuala Lumpur

In common with Wrappe, it’s also two-three times the cost of Subway, with fewer things allowed in the sandwich without adding extra cost. A little tip if you are vegetarian is that you might as well choose smallest/cheapest size, as the premium selection is mostly meat/fish.

Counter, Salad Atelier, Kuala Lumpur

Service wasn’t good – these places are conveyor belt in nature, but here the staff are very curt. They didn’t have 2/3 of the bread choices available when I visited at start of the lunch period, but at least they had all the fillings. Or so I thought. I had to go back to the counter twice to swap due to my choice not being available. They also added lettuce despite me stressing not to!

Sandwich, Salad Atelier, Kuala Lumpur

So after all that, what was the food like? Well, the bread was a bit dry, as if it had been cut during the morning, and the potato was undercooked, but all the other ingredients were actually ok to rather good, and it was a decent size.

Menu, Salad Atelier, Kuala Lumpur

I might try returning at a less busy time for an early lunch to see if it’s any better, but I’m definitely not in a hurry to do so.

Update: I did return, and when not busy it was a very different experience. Staff were more friendly, and got the order right. There had also been changes to the menu to bring in more interesting options. It’s still an expensive alternative to other sandwich shops, but much less frustration means you’ll feel you get more for that money. I have upgraded the score as a result.

Address: G16, The Intermark, 348 Jalan Tun Razak, 50400 Kuala Lumpur
Telephone: 01112588992
Website: https://www.saladatelier.com